top of page
Search
  • Christina Bell

Kindergarten Self Portrait Mixed Media: Pencil, Crayons, Construction Paper ​


These Kindergarten self portraits were some of the best ones that have ever been produced in my classroom! I loved it and the students loved it. I wanted to introduce the students to the students to mixed media and building artwork through the creative process. The students were led through the basic shapes of drawing themselves via direct instruction. They were given freedom to personalize the portraits to look like themselves and add detail that represented each of them. Following the drawing and coloring (crayons), the students were instructed to create their environment or surroundings with construction paper. They were encouraged to add detail to the construction paper parts using crayons and markers. I was so proud of my students and the art works they produced through this process. I loved it and it will most definitely teach it again!


6 views0 comments
bottom of page